top of page

Do the Job You Were Contracted To Do


You are an experienced agent, getting busier and needing help. You most likely will hire a transaction coordinator to help with the files. In fact many brokers expect you to have a "TC" to ensure your files are compliant.

The problem is many agents are abandoning their licensed responsibilities and putting the TC in the driver's seat. Once a file gets into escrow, they let the other agent know "here is Donna's contact information, send her everything." And then they disappear. This is happening more and more and it is soooo frustrating when an issue pops up and I cannot get a response from the other agent. All I get are reminders from the TC of what contingencies are due to be removed or documents need to be signed off by my client. Yeah, well, it ain't gonna happen until I have my answer from the agent. Now to be fair, you know that I am an extremely detailed person and I handle my own files because I want to know what is going on at all times (and I actually enjoy this work). That, and I could never find a replacement for Alissa who was the best RE assistant but stuck to her teaching goals - those stinky kids better know they have the best kindergarten teacher around but I digress...

So I place my high standards on top of my colleagues and expect them to know what is happening at all times and to actually work. What's worse, their clients have no clue the TC is now running the file and the agent is off chasing the next lead. While most TC's have their real estate license, their job is not to represent the client. They are to manage the file to make sure documents are executed correctly, to remind the agent of specific deadlines and to follow up with the agent in regards to compliance matters. Their primary responsibility is that the file is compliant with California real estate law.

But that is who I seem to be working with on transactions lately. The TC and me. Even when I attempt to communicate directly with the agent, he/she puts the TC back in the middle and disappears again for another round of "best ways to use an app so you never have to talk with another human and still be a top producer" training. It's amazing, though, how all of a sudden the agent shows up when we are at the closing table - that's because a paycheck is coming. So the next time you interview a real estate agent for representation, ask them if they use a TC. Then ask what role the TC would play in the transaction. If they go beyond "file compliance", cross them off their list. Or be satisfied with the Invisible Agent.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page