top of page

Where's My Protective Cape?


I’m sitting here shaking my head both in disgust and bewilderment.

In disgust as I hear another story of a real estate agent not being truthful with her clients; bewilderment that the clients can’t see through the veil of lies being fed to them. I want to wrap my Protector’s Cape around those buyers and shield them from the deceit that occurs daily in real estate. But I can’t. I’m not their agent. Though they were referred to me, they chose to work with another agent, not even bothering to talk with me who was personally referred to them by close friends.

I could say they get what they deserve. They didn’t do their due diligence on getting the best (and most protected) representation in buying a home. But this actually makes me sad and then mad. Sad for the buyers who have no clue they are being led around on false hopes. Mad because there is an agent out there who can’t tell her buyers the truth – your offers stink and you will never buy a home with the low-ball approach. No, she keeps their hopes alive by telling them “your offer is still under consideration.” Really? Two weeks after submitting a low-ball offer, their offer is still being considered? Uh NO! First, all offers have a life span, the default is 72 hours so once that window passes, the offer is no longer valid. I doubt the agent wrote in the contract the offer was valid for 14 days. Second, let’s just be realistic – if, after submitting an offer, your agent does not hear from the other agent, the offer was not accepted. The lack of a response is a response – a rejection. And if your agent did hear back from the listing agent, by all means tell your client exactly what is happening with their offer – whether it was rejected, being countered or accepted. But don’t drag buyers’ hopes out over days saying their unrealistic offer is still being considered.

I could also address the issue of the agent writing the low-ball offer and encouraging her buyers they actually have a chance. What market is she thinking of because it’s not this one! But that is another save for another day.

What is sad is these buyers have no clue they are being led around a never-ending circle. I could get mad at them for not talking with me first, but I get it. It is unfortunate but it happens. But the Super Hero inside of me is kicking and screaming that once again I can only observe from the sidelines, watching the 3rd string agent running down the field with her clients towards the wrong goal post. My protective cape can only protect those who want to be protected. I can’t save them all.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page